Engineering is in the small details

What is really engineering? In Wikipedia:

Engineering (from Latin ingenium, meaning “cleverness” and ingeniare, meaning “to contrive, devise”) is the application of scientificeconomic, social, and practical knowledge in order to inventdesign, build, maintain, and improve structures, machines, devices, systems, materials and processes.

We had this issue in my lab.

There is an AC machine that it is placed in the middle of the room. If we divide the room in three columns c, being a mathematician, we would say we have from c1 to c3. Well, the AC is in c2. The whole column c2 feels cold, since the AC points directly to them. I am in c1, so I feel hot and there is no way I can work feeling hot.

Event 1. Can I turn on the AC? c2 said yes.

Event 2. c2 feels cold.

Event 3. The degrees are 26, so it should be fine. The problem comes from the direction. The wind points directly to c2. I check how to change the direction of the wind since there is no one sitting below the AC.

Event 4. The AC does not work properly, so we can’t make it to point down.

Event 5. Since we are not AC engineers, we cannot guess the problem.

Event 6. People wants to turn it off. I said, wait. I will give it a though.

Event 7. I find a small cut-off piece from a poster we have in the lab. I came with the idea of using the paper to direct the wind.

Event 8. How can we stick it here? We cannot stitch.

Event 9. I found some magnets. Let’s use them.

The final result looks like this:

Workaraound

Notice that with the paper in the middle we block the air only in that direction.

Everyone is happy now. No more than 5 minutes. Low-cost, using a cut-off piece of a poster.

Well, I think this is engineering (And that I am kind of stubborn, yes). The key for this, keep trying.

 

 

Leave a Reply

